November 26, 2014              Login  
A critical error has occurred.
Value cannot be null. Parameter name: String

The National Society of the Colonial Dames of America
in the State of Texas
The National Society of The Colonial Dames of America in the State of Texas, incorporated in 1898, became the thirtieth corporate society to become a member of the NSCDA.  The original charter was signed by twenty-two women in Austin, Texas, on February 22, 1898, and Mrs. Samuel M. Welch was unanimously elected president. 

Because of its central location in Texas, Austin became the headquarters of the society.  The size of Texas necessitated the formation of Town Committees; the Texas Society has approximately 700 members.  There are now eight Town Committees in addition to one
At-Large Committee:



Beaumont Dallas El Paso Ft. Worth Houston San Antonio Waco

The Texas Society, like the other forty-four societies, formulates its own by-laws, though they may not be in conflict with the National Acts in Council (National by-laws). The organization of the Texas Society closely follows that of the National Society, and the main committees are the same.  These three National Standing Committees have a corresponding chairman in every State Society and a representative in each Town Committee:

 Historical Activities

 Patriotic Service

 Museum Properties

Through these committees the NSCDA in Texas strives to restore and preserve historic properties and artifacts, educate our fellow citizens in our country’s history, and to stimulate patriotism and love of country.

In 1958 the NSCDA in Texas purchased the authentic and historic Neill-Cochran House in Austin, Texas to become its domicile.  The Neill-Cochran House, one of three examples of the Texas version of Greek revival architecture built in Austin by Master Builder Abner Cook, became the Neill-Cochran House Museum in 1977.

  Copyright 2009 by The National Society of the Colonial Dames in the State of Texas   Terms Of Use  Privacy Statement